New Board Members Join Shropshire CCG and Telford and Wrekin CCG

28 July 2020 8:34am

Five new board members from a variety of professional backgrounds will be joining the Joint Governing Body at NHS Shropshire and Telford and Wrekin Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs).

The new board members are Mr Astakhar Ahmed, Mr Martin Allen, Mrs Julie McCabe, Mr Gary Turner, and Mr Meredith Vivian OBE and will begin their positions from 1, August, 2020.

Brief biographies of the new members are as follows:

Mr Astakhar Ahmed - Lay Member Patient and Public Involvement (PPI) for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Astakhar is a Criminal Defence Solicitor with his own solicitors firm specialising in Criminal Law, Immigration and Family Law. He is a member of the Birmingham Law Society and Criminal Law Committee, and also a Lay Manager at Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation Trust.

Dr Martin Allen - Secondary Care Doctor Governing Body Member

Martin is a Hospital Consultant with interests in a variety of respiratory problems, including Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), ventilatory support and sleep medicine. He has held the position of Clinical Director of Cardiology, Infectious Diseases, Genito-urinary Medicine, Respiratory Medicine and Cardiothoracic Surgery.

Mrs Julie McCabe - Registered Nurse Clinical Governing Body Member

Julie has worked in the NHS for 25 years as a Nurse and Midwife as well as an Operational and Senior Manager. She currently works for NHS Wales as Assistant Director responsible for the National Quality and Safety Programme. Julie also undertakes a role on the North West Clinical Senate providing independent clinical advice on proposals for service change.

Mr Gary Turner - Lay Member Primary Care Governing Body Member

Gary’s career in NHS senior management has spanned 37 years and has involved overseeing support services to Primary Care. Gary is also the Chair of a Multi-School Academy and has overseen the development of an academy of two secondary schools into six, including primary, secondary and sixth form provision.

Mr Meredith Vivian OBE - Lay Member Patient and Public Involvement (PPI)

Meredith was awarded an OBE for services to patient and public involvement in 2006 after a distinguished career at the Department of Health. He was a Policy-maker and Policy Lead for Patient and Public Involvement where he championed people’s voices in the health service.

Dr Julian Povey, Chair of Shropshire CCG, said: “We have enjoyed a successful recruitment drive for these positions with very talented individuals applying for the roles.  

“Those appointed will be able to bring a plethora of expertise and experience to the new Governing Body and we are confident they will ensure the best outcomes for patients.”

David Evans, Joint Accountable Officer for Shropshire CCG and Telford and Wrekin CCG, said: “With Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin CCGs bringing their decision-making processes closer together, our Governing Body members will hold key roles.

“It will be very exciting to see how they help to shape the new single CCG and work to develop and improve local health services in the future.”